Baitcaster gear ratio?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Baitcaster gear ratio?

I'm looking at trying a baitcaster this year and was wondering about gear ratio. I see some models offer a choice and since I've never used one before I really don't know what direction to go. I am looking for one to jig with but also cast. I'm new and not close to the bay so this would be something I'd use 1 or 2 times a month on the bay and the rest on local lakes. Thanks. Right now I'm looking at the Shimano Chronarch Cl4 151 plus 6.2:1 or 7.6:1. I like to buy once and have read mostly positive things about it. Plus a member here touted it and I have some Cabela points to burn. Thanks
    2016 Hobie Outback Limited #220
    2016 Jackson Cuda 12
    2015 Emotion 11 Stealth Angler

Either of those should be fine. I have had maybe a dozen different bait casters and not noticed a benefit with one or the other in terms of speed. That being said I'd get the faster one. I think it's mostly user preference.

Are you planning to spool with braid or mono?
    2015 Hobie Outback
    2001 Dagger Cayman

John

Comment

Silas I'm not sure at this point. I know some of the time I would like to jig around structure but other times cast. I usually use braid but not sure how that would hold up around rocks, bridge pylons etc... I am very new to this as I keep repeating in most of my posts which are usually questions, so I'm open to all suggestions. Also, would this reel be sufficient for jigging other species in the south of the bay? Thanks for replying
      Last edited by 1idrod; 03-19-2016, 06:24 PM. Reason: added question
      2016 Jackson Cuda 12

Comment