Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is an inflatable fishing kayak a good idea??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is an inflatable fishing kayak a good idea??

Hi Folks,

I'm a new member to this forum, and am planning on getting into kayak fishing. I live in Severn, so the Severn river, Patapsco, and across the Bay Bridge, Eastern Bay are likely target waters I'd like to fish with a kayak.

I don't have a fishing kayak yet, but am planning on buying one, and am interested in getting some ideas on what to buy. I'm not new to kayaking, I've had a 16' sea kayak for years, and I've hit all the local waters and some farther out waters (Tangier Sound/most Eastern Shore rivers/Adirondacks/Florida) with it, but it's too tipsy for serious fishing. I need to get a fishing kayak!

The main issue I am concerned about it weight. I want to get something light for easy loading in/on a vehicle. I have a Jeep Grand Cherokee, and I have a lot of experience loading my 60 pound sea kayak on the roof rack, and I want to get away from that with the fishing kayak. My back won't take but so much more of that lifting. I don't want to use a trailer either. I've seen a lot of great fishing kayaks, the Hobie brands, and several other brands, but they all seem to start at around 60 pounds or so.

I was thinking that maybe an inflatable fishing kayak would solve this problem. Does anyone know anything about them? Do they exist? Are they any good? Is this a bad idea? Anybody have a better suggestion?

Thanks,

Severn Gary

I found one used. I love it.
    Hobie Outback
    Stand Up Paddle Board
    Pelican 100

Comment

I've seen someone use an inflatable kayak once. It looked pretty slow on the water.
      I personally wouldn't ever buy one but I don't have the need for something that light or compact.

What about modular kayaks? I've never looked into them but I'd imagine they are a much sturdier and faster option than inflatable.
      Mike

Comment