Paddle Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paddle Question

I'm really just fishin' for opinions (see what I did there?)...

I recently sold my paddle kayak and upgraded it with a Coosa (specifically for shallow rocky rivers) and I'm in need of a paddle. I've never had a nice paddle (carbon fiber) and I've been looking around for options, I need a 240-250cm, and want a 2 piece. I'm trying to stay under $200 because I feel like there are plenty of nice light options in that range - I like the Werner Tybee, BB Angler Ace, and even the Backwater Assassin (but it looks a little gimmicky to me)... but the weight and price varies a bit across those 3.

Anyone have any experience with those paddles that can give me feedback? Opinions welcome... and suggestions on any decently priced paddle that I may have not seen yet is ALWAYS a plus!
    - Justin
    2017 Native Watercraft Titan 13.5
    2018 Jackson Coosa

I've been using a Werner Skagit Hooked for 3 years now and haven't seen the need to change to anything else.

Comment

I have never used any of the paddles you listed, so I cannot comment on them specifically. As a general rule, the lighter the paddle, the less tired you will be at the end of a trip. But at the same time, the lighter the paddle, the more expensive it is.

Within your budget, look for the lightest weight. Other things to consider are:

- fixed length or sliding length (some models allow 10-20 cm adjustment)
      - shape of blade (reflects your paddling style -- upright or more horizontal)
      - type of shaft connection between halves -- can you easily adjust to different angles
      - construction materials - the blade may be different from the shaft (plastic, fiberglass, aluminum, carbon fiber)
      - warranty