No announcement yet.

Are fishfinder head units waterproof ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are fishfinder head units waterproof ?

Looking at either a Humminbird 5 or 7 inch Mega DI fishfinder for my kayaks.

I’m a relative noob when it comes to fishing electronics, my only experience so far is a small, cheap handheld unit from Amazon, which works for telling depth and finding fish, but I’d like something like the Humminbird that shows better detail of bottom structure.

But what I’d like to know, and haven’t found a definitive answer for, is whether or not the head unit is waterproof. Being it’s used on a boat, I’d expect some degree of water resistance for spray and rain, but if I roll the kayak and it gets dunked and stays submerged for a time, even if it’s only a foot of water, is the head unit sufficiently water proofed for this? Or is it going for be trashed?

I can probably count on one hand the number of times I’ve been rolled unintentionally in the last 25 years of fishing from kayaks, but it does happen. And I’m a little leery about it costing $500+ if it ruins the fishfinder.

Anyone have a semi-definitive answer?
    -James
    My Tupperware Navy
    Ocean Kayak Trident 15
    Ocean Kayak Trident 13
    Ocean Kayak Trident 13
    Ocean Kayak Trident 11
    Necky Kayak Dolphin 14
    Aquaterra Prism 14

(yeah, I got too many kayaks)

I suspect that most modern FF/GPS units are at least water resistant. They can remain safe under rain, spray, hosing down, etc. I don't know how well they can do if they are fully submerged for more than a few seconds. You may want to post your question on the Sonar and Side Imaging Facebook private group. https://www.facebook.com/groups/303972883359108.

There are some very knowledgeable people about marine electronics there.
    John Veil
    Annapolis
    Native Watercraft Manta Ray 11, Falcon 11