A Cast-able 20 Cent Rig + 2 lures for Stripers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Cast-able 20 Cent Rig + 2 lures for Stripers

This is about a homemade cast-able rig (20 cents) with two lures. I am presenting my new rig and the result of the first field trip.

The rig will work for all kinds of fish I think.

Lake Anna stripers are skittish. Even though they are the same Chesapeake Bay strand stripers, they react differently to the typical Chesapeake Bay lures. This made me and other bay striper angles frustrated.

Past 5 trips, I studied and learned the lures for the lake. I found a set of lures that worked for stripers in Lake Anna. I also searched for a rig that can be cast and trolled. I tried Alabama rigs and some homemade lure with teasers. I found that the Alabama rigs, Chesapeake Bay umbrella rig, and my home made rigs weren't quite suitable for all situations - clear vs stained water or sunny day vs cloudy day, etc.

I had two lures on a rig on one rod - I call the rig with two lures tandem rig. Tandem lure rig had been good when I search for the right lures for the day. In Lake Anna, I needed an additional feature on a tandem rig. Cast-able is the additional feature that was needed while searching for the right lures for stripers in Lake Anna.

I finally made the tandem rig that can be cast and can be trolled with light tackles. My tandem rig didn't scare away stripers like Alabama rig. And two lures on my tandem rig don't mate (getting tangled). And My tandem rig won't spin during the trolling.

The only time I removed the heavy jig (duo-lock was used) was When I carried rod vertically. I had no tangle at all.

I will be using the rig for Chesapeake Bay stripers with heavier jigs and bigger lures, and with two different colors on a rig. I will test a few more times with heavier jigs before the spring trophy season opens.

I will be using the current rig for redfish and speckled sea trout. Definitely for flounders.