How deep do you troll?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How deep do you troll?

I'm new to this kayak fishing game and learning the ropes. How deep do you troll? And how do you know how far out your line really is? I've been using 2 ounce in line sinkers to troll Rapala Rattlin 05 and Rapala jerkbait 06 lures on two rods. I'm not sure exactly how far out behind me they are (maybe 60 to 100 feet???) or how deep they are getting. Not sure if I'm using too much or too little weight and if I'm trolling far enough/too far behind me. I'm generally in water 10 to no more than 20 feet deep.

I generally cast out as far as possible and then let more line out before closing the bail, so your 60-100ft is right on the money. Actually I troll closer to 100ft out...more will chime in with personal linear footage. If your running a rapala or lipped crankbait I tend to use just the bait and no weight in 10 ft of water. If I am trolling deeper, I will replace the lure with a medium to deep diving plug to adjust accordingly.

If using bucktails or paddletails....in 10 ft of water I used between 1/2-1oz jighead depending on the speed I am trolling. 20ft, I would use a 2oz head and do a few test runs to see if you are hitting bottom and/or bring up laying debris.

A great resource is a book written by our very own "Yakfish"....https://www.facebook.com/chesapeake.kayak.trolling
    2015 OLIVE HOBIE OUTBACK
    2013 OLIVE HOBIE OUTBACK
    2013 OCEAN KAYAK TRIDENT 13

JEREMY D

Comment

The depth I troll is dependent upon where I see fish. I troll a lot of crankbaits because it takes a lot of the guess work out of it. I also like that they float while at rest. While fighting a fish I don't worry about them snagging on the bottom, which is a huge pain. I do troll weighted lures and I know the depth they run based on experience. Troll over a known depth and watch your rod tips for when they hit bottom. Generally, you're trolling much shallower than you realize.