Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best all-around rod/reel?

Hello all,

I've received some good advice on this board the short time I've been here. I've got the kayak I plan to purchase in the Spring picked out, and have a good idea of how I'm going to transport and rig it.

Now, to the actual fishing gear.

If you were to have only one or two rods, what set up would you use for jigging and casting for rock fish? I imagine it has a lot to do with preference, but I'm new to fishing this area (and fishing in general) and just want to get a good idea of a starting point.

Thanks in advance,

John

I like a nice one-piece medium weight spinning rod with about a 2500 series reel. I think of that setup as the SUV of combos. I prefer a fairly fast tip, but that's probably starting to get a little too picky for one size fits all. Make and model come down to preference and budget.

I might start with a Bass Pro rod. I've had good luck in the past and they are pretty cost effective. I don't think there is much sense in spending too much if you don't yet know what you like. There are some good Shimano reels in the $60-90 price range that will last you years. They are also nice enough that you won't need to upgrade in a year or two...although you may want to anyway
    LL Bean (Perception) Manatee DLX Angler 9.5'
    Hobie Pro Angler 12

Comment

A medium weight rod with a fast action tip is a good choice for all around usage. A 2500 size reel would be adequate and keep the weight comfortable all day.

If you can get to bass pro, check out their graphite series rods. They will be on sale for around $30 starting this Friday. You could probably justify multiple rods at that price and they aren't too far off from the $100 rods.

I like shimano reels but I've heard that okuma also makes quality reels in the $40 range. Again, that could pose an opportunity to get more than one.