Where do the shad run?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where do the shad run?

where are the hot spots for shad fishing? I go to Fletchers Cove on the Potomac and the shad fishing has been great, but I hear that shad fishing also is good on the Susquehanna River too. Shad are a lot of fun to catch on fly rods! I'm ready for the season to start soon, the Potomac water temp is nearing 50 so we're not too far away.

Give Lapidum a try on the Susky.
    Freddie T

2016 Hobie Outback LE #236
    Torqeedo Ultralight 403

Comment

that sounds fun, what size/type of flies are you using?
      2015 Hobie Outback
      2001 Dagger Cayman

John

Comment

The Susquehanna can be very good. I fished there last night and got nothing. The water is too cold. The run should start soon. Most people with fly rods wade in one of the creeks, Deer Creek or Octararo. As I am new to kayak fishing, I haven't tried fishing for them in a kayak but I think the current would often be too strong in the river to effectively fish for them that way.

Comment

My friend who fly fishes uses tiny little shad darts. I think they are either 1/32 or 1/64 ounce. I can't remember. Also some years the shad don't go up in the creeks and they stay in the river.

Comment

If you are fishing from the shoreline, Fletchers is more fly fishing friendly than the Susky, but not by much. At both locations lack of backcast room is the main issue. Hip boots or chesthighs are a must to flyfish both rivers. Although when wading both rivers you gotta be very careful, there is a fairly high risk factor with both. Crowds at both areas are also a major issue. If you are out in a boat/kayak then neither issue is a big problem. Unfortunately, the Susky is more dangerous to kayak than at Fletchers due to daily/hourly major changes in water level due to generation. At full generation the Susky flows very fast.