How do you find fish

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you find fish

How do you find fish on a Kayak. I often read that you need to fish where the fish are and I read how boaters travel distance to get to fish. My question is that when in a kayak, with limited ability to travel distance, how do I find the fish. A FF shows what is under the kayak and that is fine. I usually find myself sitting there looking out over the big water and wondering where to go. Any suggestions?

bottom structure, channel edges, Type of bottom (hard or soft), Pods of bait fish and if your lucky breaking fish.

Im still a novice at reading my FF so im still guessing most of the time. If you can get hold of a good map of the area you plan on fishing showing the bottom contours it helps greatly. There are several available on line for free.

http://www.oceangrafix.com/o.g/index.html

Comment

Mike hit the nail on the head. When fishing somewhere new, I'll look on a chart for fishy areas.

When I first started, it didn't occur to me to look at charts. I found fish by trolling something everywhere I went, then I would fish the area where I caught something. After fishing the same areas repeatedly, I started noticing where bait occurred frequently and the characteristics of the places where I caught fish. Then I looked for those characteristics in other areas. That approach works pretty well, especially for topwater fishing, bottom fishing, and flounder fishing. I still haven't found reliable striper jigging places.
      Yellow Hobie Revo Rube Goldberg
      Yellow Tarpon 120

Comment