Greetings - Newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings - Newbie

(Hope this is the right spot for this - if it's not, mods please move it. Didn't see a general "introduce yourself" forum like some boards have.)

Greetings Snaggedline! Total kayak fishing newbie here. I've lived within a short walk of the Chesapeake my entire life. As a kid my dad always had boats and we would go out fishing - casting live bait or trolling. We had some luck here and there trolling, but it was hardly a scientific endeavor. I fished here and there through middle and high school as kids do, doing a whole lot of casting and very little catching. Once high school brought other interests, my fishing suffered greatly. I didn't fish much for about 15 years or so, but this summer/fall I've gotten back into it in a big way and am eager to learn from the community here.

I have a stand-up paddleboard that I was taking out when the water was warmer. I caught a bunch of white perch, some very small rock, and even a keeper or two. As the water got colder, I started to take out my old kayak. It's definitely not a fishing kayak - just a typical run-of-the-mill lake/pond kayak that I got used off Craigslist for $300 a few years ago to putt around in with my girlfriend (we got 2, not 1 double). The kinds of kayaks you guys use are absolutely amazing to me!

So I figured a good place to start (other than just browsing the forums here) was Yak Fish's book, which I received today and finished in one setting. Such awesome info, and I love the methodical, engineer's approach to mapping the water and finding the fish. Such a difference from the scattershot approach, which is honestly all I've ever really known. So I have some decisions to make about stepping up my kayak game for sure.

Here are some fish I've landed this fall - none are anything to write home about compared to fish you guys are used to, but hey, you have to start somewhere, right?