Battery powered fish finders

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Battery powered fish finders

Afternoon.... I'm just getting into the game, officially as of tomorrow, with the purchase of a Pelican Strike 120X. I want to get a small fish finder/GPS combo that has the capability of running on AA batteries. Any suggestions
    Jim McFalls
    MSG US Army Retired
    US Army Field Band Jazz Ambassadors Class of 1998

2018 Hobie Revo 13 - Sea Grass
    2015 Elie Coast 120XE Angler - Yellow/White
    2015 Pelican Unison 136t Tandem - Orange/White
    Instagram - @jmcfalls1960
    YouTube - Jimbo the Fishin' Musician

Originally posted by Jim McFalls View Post
    Afternoon.... I'm just getting into the game, officially as of tomorrow, with the purchase of a Pelican Strike 120X. I want to get a small fish finder/GPS combo that has the capability of running on AA batteries. Any suggestions
    First off congratulations for the new Yak and getting into hobby, and welcome to the board. You can run any fish finder off of 8-10 AA batteries, you would just need a holder like this
    http://www.amazon.com/8pcs-Cells-Bat...battery+holder

Then just wire the same way you would if you are hooking it up to a normal 12V battery. For maximum run time I would go with a black and white fish finder, since a color one with more advanced features will draw more current and shorten the life of the batteries.

Just a note if you are getting a full function (GPS Down/Side scan etc) color fish finder or planning on one in the future I would get a 7AH+ 12 SLA battery and a charger. Or check out the Humminbird portable fish finders they come with a battery and charger at a decent price.
    Mike

2015 Hidden Oak Slayer Propel 10

Comment

Welcome aboard!