Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to salt

Gang,

I have been fishing FW exclusively for a few years now. I really love how my Cuda fishes and the speed is more than adequate for the waters I fish. I would like to make my first foray into salt water. However, I have no cold water gear so I will have to wait until spring.

My question is this, will my Cuda 12 be adequate for the bay and its tributaries (stability and speed)? Also, what are the "must haves" for salt water fishing? I already have a PFD and other personal safety gear.

Thank you.

Mike
    ---------------------------------
    Mike Hossom
    Olive Jackson Cuda 12

You shouldn't have any issues with your Cuda. You just need to find what water conditions you are comfortable with. There are many apps/websites for forecasting wind/waves/tide that will help you determine your limitations. I mostly fish FW also and I didn't really add much to my gear for fishing saltwater. I've switched out some hooks on a couple of lures. A pair of fish grips are handy for handling fish as most SW species have teeth but a net always works so not really a must have. Always remember to rinse your gear and tackle with FW at the end of the day.
    2015 Outback

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC32..._as=subscriber

Comment

I second what Scrumptrelecent said. You should be fine with your Cuda and can use your fresh water stuff in salt just rinse it off at the end of the day.

Comment

The Cuda will be fine just take your time and get a feel for the bigger water. Biggest change for me when I started off in the salt was the tides and how much the bite can depend on moving water. Slack tides can be really tough. Rinsing your gear is good advice as well, I've got a few reels that took it hard.

Comment

Thanks Guys. I will probably post again in the spring looking for someone to tag along with.
          Mike Hossom
          Olive Jackson Cuda 12

Comment