Kayak fishing based out of an apartment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kayak fishing based out of an apartment

I'm new to this site and looking to get into fishing out of a kayak. I've been fishing for about two years now, and I'm looking to do more than fish from the shore. In the near future I'm looking to get into the water in the lakes and rivers of the Montgomery/Frederick area, but some day once I develop a little more comfort in a kayak, I'd like to move on to the Bay and whatnot. The issue I'm having is that I currently live in a third floor walk up apartment. Anyone on here have dealt with storing (and lugging) a kayak in that kind of environment? Any advise or thoughts on which kayaks would be easy to drag up the stairs after a day fishing? I've done some measurements and I think I'd want to stay no more than 12' for storage purposes. I don't think I'd have trouble transporting a 12' SOT with my vehicle situation, but lugging a big guy up three flights of stairs seems like a hassle. Thanks for any thoughts and paddle safe.
    Ocean Trident Ultra 4.3
    Hobie Revolution 13 Red Hibiscus

It might be worth checking out one the Hobie Mirage I12S, that is the inflatable version of a Hobie Kayak with the Mirage Pedal Drive, but packs down into a duffle bag for easy transport and storage.
    Mike

2015 Hidden Oak Slayer Propel 10

Comment

Could you leave it locked down on your vehicle?

Comment

Are you able to rig a pulley to lift it up to your balcony?
        John Veil
        Annapolis
        Native Watercraft Manta Ray 11, Falcon 11

Author - "Fishing in the Comfort Zone" , "Fishing Road Trip - 2019", "My Fishing Life: Two Years to Remember", and "The Way I Like to Fish -- A Kayak Angler's Guide to Shallow Water, Light Tackle Fishing"

Comment