New guy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New guy

I am new to fishing from a kayak. I don't have a fancy kayak. I have an ocean sit on top kayak that some one gave me. It has nothing on it (rod holders, fish finder). What is the minimum I need in terms of equipment to fish from my kayak with an expectation of success? I live on the Chester river. Is there a place on the Chester that would be good to fish?

easiest thing would be a milk crate that you can get at staples or a 7-11(shhh). then goto somewhere like bass pro and get the 3vertical rad holders they sell in the boat section and zip tie them to the crate. You now have a way to store tackle and rod for around $20. The next step is to get out and fish, dont rush into rigging until you findout what would be the most convienent for you.
    Interstate Kayak Fishing

Comment

You can also use pvc pipe to make rod holders to attach to your crate for an even cheaper setup. After you setup a crate. You will probably want an anchor and trolly system. I would hold off on the Fishfinder until you really know what you want. I fished my first season without a fish finder and caught lots of fish.

O and dont forget a PFD...
      Ryan
      Blue 2016 Hobie Outback
      Chesapeake Bay Kayak Anglers, Inc

Comment

welcome..thanks for joining!

like pinch said, the milk crate with rod holders should be a good start. once you get out on the water, you'll have a better feel for what you need and where you want it located on the kayak.

then the fun starts and you can get crazy on the rigging!
        Hobie Revolution 13
        Hobie Fishing Team

Comment

A fishin rod and some bait/lures (1/2 - 1 1/2 shad heads w/6" Chartuse or white Bass Assassin jerk shad for stripers, small spinners and spoons for perch) and a place you know has fish and a decent paddle.

The crates and stuff are good ......... but the above is essential

Comment

Oh ...... and welcome aboard

Comment