Baitcasters

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Baitcasters

seems like a lot of you are using baitcasters. i use conventional for trolling and surf casting bait(havent in a while though), but never a baitcaster. you really like them that much over spinners for casting? any real advantage over just preferance?
    sigpic

Originally posted by stupidjet View Post
    seems like a lot of you are using baitcasters. i use conventional for trolling and surf casting bait(havent in a while though), but never a baitcaster. you really like them that much over spinners for casting? any real advantage over just preferance?
    Never used one myself, tried a friends once and just birds nested it first cast, i'll stick to my spinning equipment

Comment

I've been using spinners for over 40 years. Never thought I would want to go with baitcasters. Well, last year I started using baitcasters for surf fishing. Got a lot birdnests, but with a lot of practice, I do pretty well now. I can cast pretty far with few or no birdnests. I now like baitcasters/conventionals.

For the kayak, I much prefer baitcasters for bottom fishing, jigging and trolling. I like the line above the rod rather than below the rod so the line doesn't get snagged on my yak rigging. I do use my baitcaster for casting jigheads and crankbaits, but I prefer my spinner most of the time. That's why I take at least one spinner on yak trips.

For plugging from shore, I use both but mostly spinners.
      2015 Hobie Outback (yellow)
      2011 Hobie Outback (yellow)
      2009 OK Prowler Trident 13 Angler (orange)

Comment

Use Baitcasters all the time ......... especially with a pitchin bar ....... when jigging dropofffs or to drop back down to the bottom ........ you touch the bar ..........

Comment