Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Premium high dollar or Wally World bargain bin?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Premium high dollar or Wally World bargain bin?

Been there done that..been on both sides of this...Shakespeare Ugly Sticks to custom rods and lots in between...building my own rods using all premium parts, blanks, grips reel seats...63 years ago a Mitchell 300 was my fist spinning reel...2020 brought me a shiny new Shimano Stradic 2500 HG FL...on a Shimano Teramar SE Inshore 7’ medium rod... I am 74 years old and I have got 63 years of fishing experiences in the rear view mirror. Balanced tackle, smooth drag, incredible sensitivity so you feel the light bites is very important to me..and 99% off my fishing is light spinning tackle using artificial lures...if I did 99% of my fishing with natural baits and mostly bottom fished my tackle would be completely different and not nearly as expensive. Casting lures for hours on end at my age makes light weight, yet strong, sensitive rods and light durable reels mandatory for me . Buying factory made rods that meet these requirements run in the $125-160 minimum price range And the sky is the limit if you go for custom rods..reels can be in the $100-300 range depending on your preference. Lighter usually means pricer reels...Diawa Ballistic LT and Shimano Stradic CI-4(+) are two of the leading reels in this category. Can you get by with $39 rods and $49 reels, sure you can. And you can catch some big fish on them. Like driving a Yugo car will get you back and forth...my Dad told me something a long time ago when I was a teenager-Buy the best fishing tackle you can afford...any reel may work but you get what you pay for and good tackle last longer so it is cheaper in the long run. If you fish twice a week or more like I do you put a premium on your gear.
    "Lady Luck" 2016 Red Hibiscus Hobie Outback, Lowrance Hook2-7TS
    2018 Seagrass Green Hobie Compass, Humminbird 798 ci HD SI