First time out on Weems.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First time out on Weems.

Thanks to everyone’s input, I went ahead and launched from Tucker street launch.

This was my first with everything; first time out on topwater PDL, first time on the creek, first time fishing on a yak, and first time using fish finder. So I didnt have high hopes. It was more of testing the water type of trip.

Maneuvering kayak and dialing in FF was already overwhelming for me. I made a few casts towards the docks and rip raps. only short bites.

It was great day to be on the water. Hopefully it gets better as I go on the water more often.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Jay

2022 Hobie Lynx - Dune

Keep getting out there. There are fish to be caught. I have been fishing in Weems Creek for 19 years and go many times a year now. There is a learning curve to figure out where and how to fish for different species. A lot of useful information has been posted on Snaggedline about fishing in Weems Creek and at many other locations. Spend some extra time reviewing old posts and look online at Google Maps and Navionics charts to help scout out productive spots.
    John Veil
    Annapolis
    Native Watercraft Manta Ray 11, Falcon 11

Author - "Fishing in the Comfort Zone" , "Fishing Road Trip - 2019", "My Fishing Life: Two Years to Remember", and "The Way I Like to Fish -- A Kayak Angler's Guide to Shallow Water, Light Tackle Fishing"

Comment

Congrats on the first trip out there! It takes time to get accustomed to all of the different things going on at the same time. If you keep going past the bridge in your photo - there's a lot of wooded structure back in the creek that is worth casting to. I went out on the Severn on Sunday, but it was a little choppy for my liking at the mouth, so I tucked back into Weems and caught a mess of perch, striper, one spot, and three pickerel on a Meps spinner with a slow retrieve.IMG-5298.jpgIMG-5299.jpg
      J

Comment