Ebay Search

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ebay Search

This is a kayak w/a few extras--just wanted to know opinions on this. She's a little less than 10' though. Me, 5'7" & 170. Since I'm a beginner & have never been on one of these before, I have to start learning, not go into this blind.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tchlink:top:en
    JoAnn Elliott

Yeah I looked at that little boat last night too. I think if you were fishing lakes and creeks it would be great! I'd be worried about the length out on the bay. Could be rough sailing in bumpy water.
    HOWEVER, there are a couple guys on here that fish 10ft Ascend kayaks and seem to take them everywhere! This little Hobie would be at least as sound as those yaks.
    PLUS...can't beat that price.
    14.5 ft Sand colored Malibu X-Factor "the promise"
    2010 Hobie Outback "the Gift Horse II"

Comment

I think a Sport would be a very nice small fishing kayak. This one comes with a few items that will get you started too, especially the cart and fish finder. If you can get it for under $1000, it is a good option. I don't know anyone on here with a sport as most of the Hobie owners own the Revo, Outback or Pro Angler. We like to carry a lot of gear and most of us would easily be over the 225lb limit of the Sport.

When you get a Hobie, you really want to know what year it is. He says he bought it in 2008 which tells you it's no newer than that but it could be older especially if they bought it as a demo. I don't think you want anything older than a 2007 as there were some plastic issues. Do some google searches on it. I had a 2007 and developed a drive well crack which is a common issue on the older ones. Each year there have been some nice updates, specifically the click and go drive and the rudder that raises/lowers by pull cables. The one you're showing has neither. I'm pretty sure 2009 incorporates the updates so if you can snag that year or newer used, you'll be happier.