Year-End Review for 2021

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Year-End Review for 2021

COVID lingers as we head into 2022. However, unlike the early months of 2020, there was no restriction on recreational fishing in MD in 2021. Virus precautions impacted other aspects of life, but at least we could go fishing.

I don’t know how many times I fished in 2021. Nor do I know how many fish I caught. I do know that I had a good year. Each outing provided its own satisfaction regardless of the number of fish I netted or their sizes.

In lieu of keeping precise catch records, I photograph some of the fish I hook and other things I find interesting on the water. I’ve been doing this for ten years. My photos have changed in that time. I now take more images of those “other things” than fish. It’s not that I am complacent about hooking fish. But for me, fishing is about more than catching.

WINTER
    My first catch of 2021 was this bass from Ingrams Pond, DE on 4 January:

P1060244 (2).jpg

I followed that DE outing throughout January with several trips to Eastern Shore ponds, primarily to catch pickerels on the fly. They obliged on each outing. Indeed, I would take my chances with streamer flies and pickerels in the coldest months of winter against any live minnow angler fishing for them. On more than one occasion I caught picks on the fly near anglers having no luck who were trailing minnow buckets behind their kayaks or canoes. Once, a frustrated minnow caster in DE observing my success plaintively asked me what I was using for “bait”.

My February was “fishless”, the only month in 2021 in which that happened. Poor weather and family obligations prevented me from fishing. That’s why I cherish each opportunity to fish. I don’t need to keep score with fish counts to assess the merits of a day in my kayak. Getting out is the reward.