New kayak angler advice needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New kayak angler advice needed

Hi. Hopefully I'm posting this in the right place. So I am new to kayak angling and need advice on buying a kayak. I've done like a years worth of research, reading forums, videos, dealers and now I'm just paralyzed. Hoping that maybe someone can help steer me in the right direction.

So, I live at the top of the Chesapeake bay in north east, 100 yrs from the water. Most of my fishing will be done on the susky flats and north of there. Ideally, my dream boat would hobie pro angler but for couple of reasons ($ and family) not an option right now. Ive narrowed my choices down to either a native watercraft ultimate 14.5 tandem angler or Jackson kayak big tuna. Basically with 2 teenage boys and a wife I need a boat that will allow me to go solo fishing or bring one of the kids or wife with me. both are right in my price range ($1500 or less), both come outfitted fairly well so they are ready to go without a ton of outfitting (although I am sure I'll be adding a fishfinder/gps and a bunch of other stuff as time goes on). My big problem is trying to decide which is the better boat for my area.

My concern is really the native is basically a hybrid kayak/canoe while the big tuna is a standard sit on top. Not sure which is the better hull type to have here. So, my request is for some advice from anyone familiar with the area and what they would recommend.

Thanks so much!

i have a keowee 3 sit in and was very happy with it. i think a sit in is more likely to have a higher initial stability because your weight is positioned lower in the boat.