looking to buy first kayak

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• looking to buy first kayak

Hey all, I'm a newb looking to buy my first kayak. I'm pretty new to both fishing and kayaking although I do have a little experience with both.

I'm down in Fredericksburg, VA and so at first, while I'm learning, I'll be using the kayak mostly to fish the reservoirs and lakes nearby Fredericksburg. I grew up on Kent Island and so once I get more comfortable with kayaking and a bit better at fishing, I'd eventually like to try some trips out in the bay. We also usually spend about a week down at Cape Henlopen DE each summer so also thinking to maybe kayak around the Delaware bay and out in the ocean.

As far as budget is concerned, I'm more interested in finding the best kayak for the job rather than saving money. I'd probably prefer to buy a bit higher quality kayak and possibly higher resale value....ideally something that will last a long time. But again, if I can find a deal on a nice model, maybe even used, that'd be even better.

Also, I have a pilot license and fly small Cessnas (not professionally, just for fun). Sometimes we fly down to outer banks or to Tangier island for day trips, and it'd be nice to be able to take a kayak on the plane. I've been reading up on Foldable kayaks. Does anyone have experience fishing out of folding kayaks? Are folding kayaks even a real option for fishing out in the bay? Or am I much better off looking at models from, say, Sea kayak and hobie?

Thanks much for any opinions/advice on where to start. Excited to get out there. And thanks much for all the great discussion on the forum, I've already learned a ton form the site.
    2012 Hobie Revo 13

Check out the Tackle Shop thread, Chimo has a nice Hobie Revo that I believe is still for sale. I use a Hobie Pro Angler and could not see myself in anything other than a Hobie. They allow you to be totally hands free in the yak and are top of the line in every aspect.