Tips on Crappie?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips on Crappie?

Hi I plan on hitting up the Occoquan River over the comming break and am going to try targeting crappie. I was wondering if there any baits, rigs, lures, tips, etc. that I could use. this is my first time fishing for crappie so any advice would be helpful.
    Ocean Kayak Trident 13: Sand

Crappie are very aggressive fish, small spinners work well, small crank baits all that jazz

i personally dont even waste my time with any thing else other then minnows. Either under bobber if you feel like being patient, or just using a shad dart and jigging them along like a bass worm.

but again they are very aggressive. the thing i like about jigging the minnies is being able to catch yellow perch, pickerel, an cat fish all in one trip. makes the time worth going.
    Zach Moore
    Delaware Paddle Sports Fishing Team
    Fishal Custom Baits Pro Staff
    Bait Towel Pro Staff
    2017 Hobie Pro Angler 12
    YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSa...8WkC2WzHhAjVaQ

Comment

BassMoore, how do you hook the minnow to the shad dart? Thru the tail, lip, etc?
      -Neil

Moken 13 Angler Deluxe

Comment

Fishing a jighead with killifish (mud minnows) I usually hook them just a bit farther back than the thin area of the lips- NOT through the head because that kills them dead, although you can hook them through the eyes and they are OK- Cast gently so you don't rip the hook out and work the jig with short hops-
        "Lady Luck" 2016 Red Hibiscus Hobie Outback, Lowrance Hook2-7TS
        2018 Seagrass Green Hobie Compass, Humminbird 798 ci HD SI
        "Wet Dream" 2011 yellow Ocean Prowler 13
        Charter member of Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club

Comment