Troubling Trends in the Bay

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Troubling Trends in the Bay

I suspect many of you are either members of, or commonly frequent TidalFish and perhaps saw this post by Shawn Kimbro below (I often read up on reports here to get a sense of the overall fishing throughout the bay):

http://www.tidalfish.com/forums/show...-Mon-Dec-13-17

For those that didn't, it is worth a careful read and some thought. I admit to the more experienced in this region that I am a very novice member to this fishery but consider myself a fairly experienced fisherman (the demands of military moves I suppose). From that perspective I must offer a VERY limited perspective and don't have many years to reflect back on for data--though I know several on this forum DO have that time-in-grade and can perhaps speak with a bit more wisdom.

I for one have always been and always will be a catch-and-release fisherman--I enjoy the sport of the hunt for fish, the fight, and then ultimately returning them for someone else to enjoy. There is certainly nothing criminal about keeping fish, but I have started to wonder about the sustainability of the striped bass fishery here given the ever-growing recreational base and already highly-prized commercial industry. If you read the various posts on TF you will see many pointing to the water quality, the weather patterns or overall warmer water, etc. To me, these are all valid causal factors that should be carefully considered, but I suspect what is really happening is due in the LARGEST part to us (be it commercial or rec)...