Looking for some insight from the experienced

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for some insight from the experienced

Hey guys, I'm Dan. New to kayak fishing and this forum. A lot of videos on youtube about kayak fishing always refer to MKF. For a while I wondered what that was and finally I've figured it out. Nice to meet all of you. Reading all sorts of threads here and it's amazing how much information everyone puts out.

I've loved fishing ever since I was young and I've always wanted a boat. Since I'm a college student, I'm obviously too broke for a 24' center console, so I opted for a kayak. After looking around at retailers for a fishing kayak, I thought of an idea to build my own. I would mainly be fishing on lakes/ponds/rivers, so at first I wasn't too worried about fishing in the bay. This kayak that I am building is 12' long and has a center width(beam) of around 32''. It's all wood. I've gotten decently far on it. I just epoxied the whole inside of it to keep as much moisture out of the wood. Next step would be to install the front and rear decks.

My question is that, being a sit-in kayak with an open seating area and a flat bottom(I'll put up photos), is it possible to fish the bay bridge and susquehanna flats areas?

I've heard a lot of sit-in kayakers use spray skirts to prevent water from entering the cockpit area. The way my kayak is designed, the 2 ribs of the boat close off the center/seating area from the front and rear sections. The ribs are about 3'' in height, so if water were to come over the sides, I could potentially bail the water out without worrying about water reaching the front and rear sections.

Do I need a spray skirt for fishing in the bay?

My thinking is that as long as I go on a calm day, with little to no waves, I wouldn't have to worry about water spraying into the boat. Of course it's inevitable, so small amounts of water is fine, I'm just worried about sinking