waders for cold winter fishing?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• waders for cold winter fishing?

What waders to you guys usually use when fishing in cold water? I have a set of neoprene waders that i use for trout fishing, but mobility in them is less than optimal. They feel heavy and don't bend easily at the knees to be able to pedal the kayak. are there any specific brands that are better suited for pedaling a Hobie? Also looking for recommendations on splash tops that are comfortable.

Thanks!
    Veni, Vidi, Vici pisci

Sock waders w/wading shoes ........... warm clothes underneath.

Comment

I am fairly new to the sport, but I purchased a pair of "Caddis Systems" Waist-Hi Waders and very pleased with them. They are breathable with neoprene booties. I do not have a Hobie, but I have a great range of movement. My trout waders were useless my first time out, my arms were very constricted since I was sitting on most of the wader material. I wear a pair of crocs for launching to protect the booties. Not to mention, using the bathroom is much easier.

I would consider these pant waders trout fishing because they are so comfortable, but I am usually good for a spill in the water trying to wade to a deep pool!
      2015 OLIVE HOBIE OUTBACK
      2013 OLIVE HOBIE OUTBACK
      2013 OCEAN KAYAK TRIDENT 13

JEREMY D

Comment

I don't pedal but the mobility in breathable chest waders is good.

http://www.dickssportinggoods.com/pr...ductId=4039301

As they mentioned, it is the clothing you wear under the waders that keeps you warm (avoid cotton, go for layers that wick away moisture like Under Armour stuff, fleece and wool).

Splash Top on sale:
        http://www.nrsweb.com/shop/product.a...1&pdeptid=2018

Dry Top on sale:
        http://www.nrsweb.com/shop/product.a...6&pdeptid=1172