Susquehanna Flats Jamboree lure selection

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Susquehanna Flats Jamboree lure selection

I plan on attending/fishing the Jamboree, while I have experience fishing for largemouth in this area (and that is likely what I will target for part of the day) I don't have any experience fishing for ROCKS in this area...I have on a few occasions in a charter in the lower Chesapeake only. My question and im not asking for anyones super secret baits is: what size jig heads, bucktails are most popular/required to fish here? I have a large selection of hard jerk baits for LMB...should I keep one tied on for ROCKS? Anything you have to offer on the subject would be appreciated. Regards
    Jackson - BIG TUNA

I'm no expert but here's the things I've used/heard of people using: Hard jerk baits, redfins, rattle traps, 1/2 to 2 oz jigheads with sassy shad / bkd / etc., tube-n-worm, silver buddys, crippled herring, Tony Accetta pet spoons, and top water poppers (though the water needs to be warm enough for top water action). That's what comes to mind right off the bat and I'm sure there's more.

2015 Viking Profish Reload

Comment

I use only soft plastic Bass Assassins (or look-a-likes) from 4" paddletails up to 7" straight tails.

Jig heads from 1/2oz to 3/4oz. Sometimes I go up to 1oz for the 7" BAs but that much weight is rarely needed.

Best colors: chartreuse silver glitter, albino, opening night... all other colors are on second string stand-by.

All time favorite: 5" BA, albino, on a 1/2oz head. Chartreuse silver glitter on same jig runs a very close second.

Attached is a picture of some of the lures I use on the Flats. Those are all home-pours but you'll get the picture. I avoid lures with treble hooks because they can take too much time to unhook fish and they tend to collect water weeds...I'm all about keeping the lure in the water.

saltwater lures.JPG