Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New forum member/new kayak

Hi all -

I just found this forum yesterday while searching online. I am new to kayaking, but not to fishing. I also have a canoe, but prefer my Nucanoe Frontier 12. I bought it earlier this year. I have it rigged up for fishing, with just a few more things to do to it before I consider it done.

In recent years, I have mostly fished fresh water - lakes and rivers. I am into both fly fishing and spin rod. I love to fish - brings back great memories of fishing with my Dad when I was a kid.

I am looking forward to fishing on the Chesapeake. However, I am not familiar with kayaking on anything other than lakes. I am not afraid to do it, just not sure what to expect - what to look out for, what precautions I may need to take, and good points of entry. I have a few launch sites in mind, given to me by a boating friend.

Is anyone else here interested in joining up sometime on the Bay? I live not too far from Columbia, MD. I think it would be good to go out a few times with someone else while they are also out with their kayak, just to get an idea of how things are on the Bay.

Hope to meet some of you here out on the Bay sometime!

Laura
    Laura (aka zeebyrd)
    Perception Pescador Pro 100

Welcome!

Comment

I'm not familiar with that kayak; is it stable in choppy conditions and current? Bay conditions change more rapidly and more severely than a lake/river environment so have safety as a priority, know how to self rescue if needed. The species of fish in the bay all have their unique preferences so advice would depend on what you want to target and where. This has some useful links. http://www.snaggedline.com/showthrea...nch-Site-Links also, launch sites http://www.paddling.net/launches/
      2010 Hobie Revolution 13

Comment