Hook swapping on artificials

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hook swapping on artificials

Since the weatherman scared me out of fishing this weekend, I got hooked in the lures isle of my local tackle store. It was really bad ...

Since I'm new to artificials, I've decided to read up on presentation of them. I see a lot of people on this site and through the internet talk of altering hooks setups on artificials to increase fish mortality. I'm all for that. I also dont want to hook myself and the fish together on some multiple treble hook once he's in the yak.

Some say pinch the hooks, some say replace with circle hooks or with siwashi hooks with a skirt, or take off the rear treble but not the front, or just leave the rear hook. One guy bragged he used no hooks because he just wanted to feel the hit of the fish. Anyway, you get my point, they alter the hooks. Should I do that? I don't want to ruin my new lures either.

What do you guys do, and how do you know what sized/ type hooks to use as replacements?
    Hobie Revo 13 (w/ graffiti removed)
    Ocean Kayak Trident 13

I either mash the barbs on most or switch to dressed single hooks. Just check the action before and after the change to make sure the action isn't changed much. Most of the time it isn't

Comment

An easy trick is to mash the barbs down the then just nip two of the three hooks off the treble hook. It help with fish mortality but more importantly I prefer not driving myself to the ER with a hook embedded in a body part.

Comment

You can change trebles to single hooks but many times you need to go up three sizes to keep the same action. You might need to experiment with it. Some like Top water are not going to matter. Even some like big Danny swimmers probably will not matter. Now a Rattle-l-trap, the size of the hook could affect the action.