Who fishes through the winter??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who fishes through the winter??

Just wondering who toughs it out through the winter, where you go, what you fish for, etc? Since I'm just getting the kayak, I'm wondering how much opportunity I'll have between now and spring. I was thinking i could pick up a wet suit and fish the more decent days all the way through. However this is my first year in these parts so I have no idea where to head out to or if its even worth it.. who are the brave ones?
    2013 Hobie Pro Angler 14

I live in Dameron and I am picking up my new Pro Angler tomorrow from Bluhaven. I fish with a couple of guys that fish all year round. I will fish locally and probably make a few trips to Nags Head. I hope to meet some of you all at the meet and great on Saturday to learn about the hot, well cold this time of year, spots to fish through the winter. I talked to a friend about maybe hitting the James River for catfish when it gets really tough to be on the bay.
    Live for today, and fish often...
    2014 Pro Angler 14
    St. Jerome Creek, Dameron

Comment

I fish straight through the winter for largemouth bass (on local reservoirs like Clopper Lake in Seneca Creek State Park) and for smallmouth bass on the Upper Potomac River. I do plan on fishing the Tidal Potomac for Largemouth Bass more this cold water season as I believe I discovered something in the early spring when the water temperature was still in the low forties.
      Dave

Wilderness Systems Ride 115

Comment

I'll concentrate on Deer hunting after T-giving, then start hitting Blue catfish in the Potomac starting in February

of course, after my first trip of the bowhunting season last Sunday, I may do more fishing for awhile....

14.5 ft Sand colored Malibu X-Factor "the promise"
        2010 Hobie Outback "the Gift Horse II"

Comment

Nicely done! Looks like you've got hunting figured out! Where do you hunt at?
          Jeff B