Newbie here, wanted to say hi and ask question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie here, wanted to say hi and ask question

Looking at buying a kayak this spring. Got it down to 2 choices. Ride 115/135, or the Predator. I'll be doing mostly fly fishing, , not all, on still water/slow moving. Obviously standing will be an issue, but I think both boats look comparable.

what I am wondering about is consoles/hatches, and snagging?

Anybody have any issues with the Ride? Anybody have any issues with the Predator 113?

Looks like the Predator has the advantage, when it comes to cockpit openess...being able to tip the seat back.

thanks

and not sure if there are any other members from Alberta here, but hopefully I will be able to show you guys some great pics/vids this season.

I do quite a bit of riding up to those "inaccesible" lakes too.

I cannot address either ride you mentioned but I can tell you that a few line snarls are inevitable no matter how much you prepare to avoid them.

I strip line so that it falls on the deck between my legs or I let it flow in the water beside the boat. Also, being right-handed I generally cast to the left side of the kayak. I therefore put my paddle on the right side to avoid hanging line on the paddle. I keep my pliers and fish griper on the left but I make sure the handles are below the gunnel. As you know, if there is something to tangle on, your line will find it.

As to standing, you likely will not miss it. Any desired distance you lose by not standing can be made up by the approach the kayak allows. Just drift or paddle closer to your target. I can toss big poppers and heavy streamers 40 to 50 feet while seated and that's plenty of distance for most fishing situations.

Welcome to Snaggedline. You certainly have some beautiful countryside to fish in.
    Mark
    Pasadena, MD

Slate Hobie Revolution 13
    Hidden Oak Native Ultimate 12
    Lizard Lick Native Ultimate FX Pro

Comment