Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lowrance Elite 4 DSI

Hello Everyone,
    I'm new to this site and just got permission to post but I have been enjoying reading your posts. I noticed Cabela's has the Lowrance Elite 4 DSI Sonar/GPS combo on sale for $279.00. I'd like your opinion of this unit. I'd like to install the transducer to shoot through the hull of my Nativewatercraft Slayer. Lowrance doesn't recommend this installation - are any of you having success with this method? I mostly fish the skinny water off the Chesapeake.

Thanks for your help!

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Lowra...h-All+Products

I just bought a Elite 4 over the holidays but haven't installed it on my kayak yet. So far I'm having a problem with the GPS unable to connect to the satellites. I'm not sure what the problem is right now and will contact Lowrance once I'm on the water and still cant use GPS.

Comment

Originally posted by Elsea View Post
      Hello Everyone,
      I'm new to this site and just got permission to post but I have been enjoying reading your posts. I noticed Cabela's has the Lowrance Elite 4 DSI Sonar/GPS combo on sale for $279.00. I'd like your opinion of this unit. I'd like to install the transducer to shoot through the hull of my Nativewatercraft Slayer. Lowrance doesn't recommend this installation - are any of you having success with this method? I mostly fish the skinny water off the Chesapeake.
      I am not familiar with the Elite 4 DSI unit or its transducer. I don't know why Lowrance recommends not installing it to shoot through the hull -- maybe it interferes with the DSI capability. I have installed Lowrance units on 4 separate kayaks and have always installed the transducer inside the hull. I get excellent sonar readings. I recently posted about installing a Lowrance FF/GPS on my Native Slayer Propel. Check out that post and follow the links to find my installation instructions.

Originally posted by huizhao85 View Post