Does anybody flyfish from a Hobie?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does anybody flyfish from a Hobie?

Hi Everyone; This is my first post. I really like this forum. I'm just getting into joining my two hobbies: flyfishing with kayaking. I've done both for years - but not together. Last year, I rigged my Malibu 2XL, and my sit in side Pungo which worked OK, but I'd prefer to go for a boat specific for fishing. I like the idea of propulsion, but I'm wondering how frequent the line gets snagged onto those pedals. If anyone has some personal advice on the best kayak for flyfishing (and I'd prefer to stand on occasion) please chime in. Thanks. -ron

Hey I have a Hobie Revo 13, got it last year, and I fly fished a bunch out of the kayak and it was great. Never tried standing and flyfishing, but I caught a lot of bass and panfish out of the Hobie and it was fun.

The only thing I had to watch for was to make sure my excess flyline wasn't wrapped around anything, it did tend to wrap around the rudder control every once in a while, but not a big issue.

Good luck!

Comment

I also fly fish from a Revo 13. I never feel a need to stand and I wouldn't try it in a Revo anyway.

It's pretty hard to tangle stripped line in the Mirage Drive since it sits so far forward in the kayak. I've never done that. But I do keep the left side of the kayak clear of anything that would snag the line since I'm right-handed and I cast mostly to the left of the boat or straight ahead. I store the paddle on the right and keep my pliers tucked low in the side pocket on the left. As you know anything in the path of the line will catch it.