Potomac river help please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Potomac river help please

Hi guys, I have never fished the potomac and I want to change that this year. I have a few questions I hope you guys can help with. From what I can see on google maps the potomac is mainly thru VA?
    Where's a good launch area for LG and SM mouth bass on the MD side?
    Where's a good reference area that I'll need a VA license on the river?
    I'm new to the potomac and want to do it right thanks guys

Matty, I cannot comment on the best places to fish on the MD side as I fish the from the Va side although numerous members of this forum seem to fish Mattawomen creek. The Virginia State line is at the waters edge on the Virginia side . In other words, the entire river is in Maryland or the District of Columbia and way up River West Va comes into play but I am assuming we are talking tidal Potomac. . If you fish up river from the Wilson bridge up to the chain bridge you need a District of Colombia license. If you are above chain bridge or below the Wilson to the 301 bridge you need a VA or MD freshwater lic. MD and VA have reciprocity agreements and honor lic. from the other state where the waters have a shared border. . Below the 301 bridge you may need a salt water lic but I am not 100% on this and I am sure another member will chime in and correct me. This forum has a lot of knowledgable members and if you key word search you will find a plethora of information regarding areas it fish on the MD side. If you at fishing tidal Potomac there are a bunch of species to target to include channel cat, blue cat, LMB, SMB, Rock fish Aka stripe bass, and snake head to name a few.
    Last edited by Moschedmi; 03-12-2014, 11:34 PM.
    Ed
    Jackson Cuda 14

Comment

What areas? I am an Upper Potomac guy. We do Float trips in Washington and Frederick Counties for Smallies.