Planning a trip to jonas green park

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Planning a trip to jonas green park

I have the next two weekend covered with fishing trips; but I was thinking about launching from the Jonas Green Park to go fish the creeks for perch.

I am still a novice kayaker and am trying to play it save. Can you guys give me any pointers? What lures / bait to use? Is there many catfish back in the creaks. Do I use bunker and bloodworms??

Thanks,
    Stan
    Wilderness Systems Ride 135

If you plan to launch from Jonas Green and target perch, you should paddle/pedal to one of the nearby tidal creeks. The perch begin showing up in the shallow shoreline sections of the creeks during the second week of May. I fish all artificials for perch. My most successful lures are small spinnerbaits (1/8-oz). You can also use small paddletails or twistertails on 1/8-oz jigheads, inline spinners like Mepps, small metal spoons, or very small swimming plugs. Gulp also works. Cast to the shoreline and work the lure back to your kayak. Once the perch show up they will be around until late October.

Catfish are not commonly found in the Severn.
    John Veil
    Annapolis
    Native Watercraft Manta Ray 11, Falcon 11

Author - "Fishing in the Comfort Zone" , "Fishing Road Trip - 2019", "My Fishing Life: Two Years to Remember", and "The Way I Like to Fish -- A Kayak Angler's Guide to Shallow Water, Light Tackle Fishing"

Comment

I am so excited for perch season, they are the one fish I have a lot of confidence in catching. Perch fishing is so peaceful as well, find a nice looking spot, anchor up, and catch a bunch of the little buggers. Well, peaceful until you hook up with a small striper or blue by surprise.

I followed the advice of JA Veil and others on here last year and had great success. This year I am going to add some chartreuse Ned rigs into the mix and see if they can help me pull some big ones in.