6 hours, 1 perch on West River

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6 hours, 1 perch on West River

I had posted a good trip and at least another decent trip on the West River recently. Two weeks ago, I caught a couple stripers, a croaker and some white perch before sunrise. Once the sun came up, it was like someone flipped a switch and the bite stopped. I thought it was only fair to post my most recent and disappointing trip.

This past Saturday, Arron and I arrived earlier than we ever have before. We were already fishing by 515am and had a nice window to fish before the sun came up. We also had a moving tide (incoming). Arron managed two stripers, both small. I caught nothing. We continued to fish for another 6 hours and during this time we each caught one white perch. I am not an expert, but it certainly appears that the water temperature rising has steadily decreased our catches over the last few weeks, but I was surprised to spend 6 hours fishing to catch one white perch.

It was a beautiful day and I went for a nice swim to cool off. Time to start exploring other waters...

Tight lines everyone

That's a really tough day. Welcome to July fishing
    Dave

2021 Hobie Outback Camo
    2013 Native Slayer Hidden Oak

Comment

Thank you Dave. I received some intel regarding a good bite at the Patapsco, but my friend was using 1oz jig heads. I've never used anything heavier than a 1/4 oz. The more I learn, the more I realize how little I know.

Comment

I admire your honesty, Rob.

It's easy to post a sumary of a successful trip but not as easy to share the results of a slow outing even though they happen to each of us.

Heat, tide and water clarity impact our results. I've felt the combined influence of those factors on my last three trips.

I fish when my opportunities allow even when I know conditions are not optimal.