Newbie here!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie here!

While researching for my first kayak, I luckily landed on this forum. Looks like tons of great info here. Before making the plunge, I wanted to gather thoughts on the Vibe Makana 100. Would you recommend this kayak for a beginner? I'm nearing 50 and stand at 5'7 170ish lbs. I was aiming for something light that I can transport without a trailer and could handle myself without too much strain. I plan to spend most of my fishing in the Pax River and creeks. I hope to venture to the mouth of the Pax and the Hog Pt. area. Would this kayak be ideal for these areas and for my age & size? Any input would be much appreciated! Thanks!

You would want to ask whatever dealer to let you get a demo on it and check its stability. The hog point area can get pretty dicey on any given day with all the boat wake. You would want to pick a day without much wind. I've been out there on a 10MPH wind day and it was about the limit for my bonafide RS117 and bonafide kayaks are up there at the top for stability. For that price point and size, i would also suggest trying out a bonafide SS107. See which one feels best for you. Of course, if having pedals is a must, then the one you're looking at is probably the best for you. Most other pedal kayaks aren't that short, expect for I believe a couple Native models. I would also suggest going down to the patuxent adventure center in solomons. They have a lot of great kayaks and will usually cut some deals. I got mine there for 200 dollars off because they called it a blemished model. Its only problem was a little smudge on the logo.
    Dylan

Bonafide RS117

Comment

Thanks for the recommendations!

Comment

Originally posted by gogorome View Post