• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Croaker reports/ M&G Review

Meet and Greet Blog post!!

http://thehobielife.blogspot.com/201...man-creek.html

Severn Croaker Post

http://thehobielife.blogspot.com/201...f-croaker.html

Thanks for following. Hope it helps you find some fish.

Nice fish and great report.
    "I own my own happiness"........ Michelle Obama

Comment

I had a good day catching croaker before the rain moved in this afternoon. Goody and I launched out of Jonas Green Park, jigged the piers for perch. Eventually we made it to the bridge pilings and bounced cooked shrimp on a top and bottom rig. We caught plenty of keeper perch and Croaker...since I am new to the salt life, this was my first time catching croaker. They filet nicely!

I should have introduced myself at the Meet and Greet Matt, I did not realize that was you. I was trying to give you some personal space with the lady. I was the guy that anchored close to you in the olive outback catching catfish. I got my first snakehead, so I was just finishing the day with some good cat pullage.
      2015 OLIVE HOBIE OUTBACK
      2013 OLIVE HOBIE OUTBACK
      2013 OCEAN KAYAK TRIDENT 13

JEREMY D

Comment

I caught some croaker at the mouth of Weems Creek this afternoon on Fishbites. The Fishbites were at least a year-old in an opened bag, but the croaker did not care. It is great to have a non-perishable bottom fishing bait on hand. I tear off 1" long sections and hook them through the middle.

Matt mentioned leaving his rods in the rod holders when bottom fishing. I do that most of the time. I use small snelled circle hooks with silver spinner blades (Bear Paw FNCH 2 or 4) on standard bottom rigs. The fish hook themselves and rarely take the bait deep into their throats.

I also found a greater abundance of perch in my usual Weems shorelines spots. In two of my better spots, I had either a caught perch or a bite on about every second cast.
        John Veil
        Annapolis