Bay Bridge 8-31-13

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bay Bridge 8-31-13

Hit the water early this morning on a good incoming tide. Launched around 7am with Goody. We headed out and began working the bridge pylons, live lining spot. On my first drop, fish on. Caught a nice 21 incher in about 16-20 FOW (cant remember exactly...but it wasnt very deep). Caught my second keeper a few minutes later, closer to 20". This is my first time catching two stripers for my limit...from the kayak. Before 7:45, I had my limit. I caught them both within less than 20 minutes! It was a great feeling.

Water was a bit choppy, and I took quite a few waver over the bow & gunwales. But it wasn't too too bad at all. I've been out in far worse.

With my remaining spot, I continued to fish. I caught about 8 more stripers, ranging from 18" to 23". I had one HUGE fish on. It ran behind me, and ended up snapping my 40lb braid. I wish I could've got that bad boy to the surface.

Aside from the fishing, I experimented with a live well setup on my yak. My old battery box has been serving as a perfect storage hatch for gear. FOr live lining, the amount of necessary gear is minimum. Just hooks, sinkers, leader. With that being said, I filled the battery box/storage compartment with bay water, and loaded it with my spot. I ran an aerator to the well for a steady oxygen supply. It worked fantastic!! IT was convenient having the spot right in the well in front of me, rather than having the flow troll bucket dragging behind me. For comparison, I put a few spot in the flow troll to compare their liveliness. Both aerated water & refreshed bay water worked out well for this trip. FOr longer trips, I'd swap out the livewell water for increased longevity.

I was off the water by 9am. I caught about 10 rockfish on 12 spot.