Second Spa Creek Pickerel trip 11/23

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Second Spa Creek Pickerel trip 11/23

Launched at Truxton Park at 3:00 this afternoon. Tide was very low for the second week in a row (does it ever come in). Caught a nice pickerel on the 5th cast, estimate her to be 20", almost derby worthy. Unfortunately, my little hog trough tiedown failed and she launched back into the creek before I could settle her down for a pic. Saw a few decent white perch follow ups, but no more than a tap from them. After another half hour I hooked up with my second pickerel, a twin to last week's fish at 18.75". Was off the water at 4:15, not bad for a short trip. Today's lure was what John V. reported catching on yesterday, small jighead with chartreuse twister tail. Best news, leaves were not a problem today. Looking forward to next week.

Was checking out the ramp, (first time there) and met Capt C-Hawk. The first forum member I've talked to. Newbie here. He had a couple good tips for me. Thanks for the post C-Hawk. For as much water there is around AA county they sure are lacking in the number of boat ramps available. Will keep on looking around.

Comment

C-Hawk,

Congrats on the catches.

I was in Weems yesterday using the same lure in your photo. I struck out again. Not even a bump.

The "high" tide remains very low and I have to wonder if that is impacting the pickerel catch.
      Mark
      Pasadena, MD

Slate Hobie Revolution 13
      Hidden Oak Native Ultimate 12
      Lizard Lick Native Ultimate FX Pro

Comment

Bob -

Nice going on getting a few pickerel yesterday. Mark and I fished Weems Creek during the morning. I threw a variety of small lures with yellow, white, and chartreuse colors. Neither of us had a bite in 2.5 hours of fishing in my typical pickerel spots.

Another guy in the SRRKC fished much farther up river yesterday and caught several pickerel over 21" as well as a yellow and a white perch.