No announcement yet.

Requesting Suggestions of Place to Take Female Kayaker for Touring/Sightseeing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Requesting Suggestions of Place to Take Female Kayaker for Touring/Sightseeing

Hi,

I am new to kayak fishing and have only used my kayak for fishing since I bought it. A female friend just purchased her own and wants to go touring/sightseeing. She is a decent paddler and in excellent shape (just finished a triathalon so stamina is not an issue). I have really only been to some local lakes and Jonas Green.

Does anyone have any suggestions of a good place to do say a 4 or 5 hour paddle that is within a 1.5 hour drive of Washington, DC? I would really like to show her a good time and make her first experience in her new kayak a rewarding one. (MAYBE I CAN GET HER TO GO FISHING IN THE FUTURE...)

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Rob

For touring/sightseeing take her to Truxton Park in Annapolis. There's a good ramp at the end of Park road with picnic tables and charcoal grills. Ramp is free if you cartop and $5 if you trailer. There's even a tour operation with OK Malibu 2's if you don't want to take your own. http://www.kayakannapolistours.com/

This is Spa Creek. It flows into the Severn at the Naval Academy. Plenty of white perch in the creek.

Comment

It all depends on how adventurous you want to be. If you want to play it safe, go back to Jonas Green. Paddle upriver on the same side (east side) and go in and out of the creeks to past the Rt. 50 bridge.

If it's a calmer day and not too much boat traffic, go across the river from the start and explore College Creek and the creeks upriver from like such as Weems, etc.