Dos and Don'ts of saltwater

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dos and Don'ts of saltwater

Still being a noob, I plan on getting a good set of yak legs under me in freshwater, i.e. ponds and lakes, then moving up to places like Mattawoman and Port Tobacco. BUT, I would ultimately like to get out and chase some salty fishes. Any good pointers on the dos and don'ts of eventually venturing out there?
    Anthony

Redfish 12 Angler

Check and double check the weather.
    Bring and drink plenty of water.
    Always wear your PFD (don't just bring it and leave it in the hatch).
    I don't personally have one myself, but many people have marine radios as well.
    Ryan
    Blue 2016 Hobie Outback
    Chesapeake Bay Kayak Anglers, Inc

Comment

A few things to always do in any body of water; large or small, fresh water or salt:

1) ALWAYS wear your p.f.d.
      2) ALWAYS comply with other regs such as having a 360 degree light/flag if you're up before or out after the sun rises or sets, and having a loud whistle around your neck to alert other boats headed towards you.
      3) ALWAYS plan for the worst thing that could happen, and PRACTICE what you would do in that event such as capsizing and recovery drills
      4) If you have a sit inside yak like I do, DO NOT to hit places like the Bay Bridge pilings, or even Kent Narrows bridges because of high wakes and/or currents. Sit inside yaks are not self-bailing, and getting dumped by the rock piles near the bridge spans pretty much guarantees that you'll lose all or most of your gear, ruin an otherwise good day, and need a tow back to the launch site.
      5) COLD WATER IS FATAL. This time of year, this item should be number 1. See separate thread with that caption.
      6) ALWAYS check the latest MARINE forecasts, with your emphasis on WIND DIRECTION AND SPEED just prior to launch.