Slow at 301 Bridge, 7/21

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Slow at 301 Bridge, 7/21

I met up with Ron (ronaultmtd) at around 5pm at the Aqualand Marina off 301 to fish the pilings of the bridge to see if the action there was as hot as the Bay Bridge. We fished until just before 7:30pm because we had to be out of the marina by 8pm, which is unfortunate. We were fishing the beginning of flood tide, the surface water temperature was a balmy 87-88*, and salinity was 6.8.

I started jigging the pilings with a white BKD while Ron was live lining perch. There were tons of marks around all the pilings I visited. Most of the marks were around 20-25ft, and the bottom depth was 70-80ft. I'm not very good at jigging, and I'm even worse at jigging on suspended fish. However, I managed to jig up a little white cat that absolutely slammed the BKD on one of my early drifts. It wasn't much longer than the lure itself.

How can a little fish hit something so hard?

Menhaden were breaking here and there, and something was harassing them, so I threw a Rattletrap and my popper/bucktail combo to see if I could pick up something closer to the surface. No dice. Later, something either bit off or slurped off my BKD from my hook, and Ron had a perch bitten in half, so blues were around.

I foul hooked a bigger white cat while a cormorant looked on:

And that was that.

Ron by the bridge:

I forgot my Smelly Jelly, which probably would've enticed more cats to hit the jig. I was hoping for a Memory Maker-style big blue cat. We probably could've clobbered them with some bait rigged on a slip bobber drifted by the pilings. I also wish the place would stay open later because it would've been good to hit the pilings by the coal plant as well as some of the places Capt. C-Hawk recommended. Anyway, it was good fishing with Ron again, and it was much nicer on the water than on land, which made for a nice evening.
    Yellow Hobie Revo Rube Goldberg
    Yellow Tarpon 120